34.7 F
Wednesday, November, 30

UNT named HSI Leader by Fulbright Program

Denton Stories

Design team places third at NASA-sponsored design competition

A Texas Woman’s team of senior kinesiology students placed...

Chemistry earns Dreyfus Lectureship award

The Texas Woman's University's chemistry and biochemistry division has...

Saturday campus tour at TWU set for Dec. 3, 2022

Texas Woman’s University will host a Saturday campus tour...

UNT social work faculty earns $1.9M grant to fund substance use disorder training program

Dhru Mukherjee, associate professor in the University of North Texas College...

Texas Woman’s launches Zero Tuition Guarantee to curb college debt

Texas Woman’s has unveiled a new program that guarantees...

Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference recognizes nation’s top writers through annual contests

The 2022 Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference announced the winners of its...

Center announces women entrepreneur grant winners

The Center for Women Entrepreneurs (CWE) at Texas Woman’s...

TWU molecular biology class unlocks DNA secrets

There is a dimension unknown to all but an...
Listen to Story

The University of North Texas is one of 43 Hispanic-Serving Institutions nationwide to be named a Fulbright HSI Leader by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.

This is the first time UNT has earned this designation, which is given to HSI universities who have demonstrated noteworthy engagement with Fulbright exchange participants during the 2021-2022 academic year and have promoted Fulbright Program opportunities on campus.

“UNT is one of only 21 Carnegie Tier One research universities designated a Hispanic-Serving Institution, and we are proud to now be named a HSI Fulbright Leader as well,” UNT President Neal Smatresk said. “The Fulbright Program offers opportunities for our students and faculty to be active citizens in the global community through enriching educational, teaching and research experiences abroad.”

Since 1960, there have been more than 80 faculty named as UNT Fulbright Scholars and Specialists. There have been more than 50 UNT Fulbright Student Grantees since 1949.

For the 2022-23 awards cycle, 11 faculty members and students earned awards from the prestigious Fulbright Program. More than 60% of UNT students selected as semi-finalists went on to earn a 2022-23 Fulbright U.S. Student Program award.

Fulbright award winners from UNT include:

Fulbright Scholar Program

  • Andrew Torget, associate professor of history in the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences. Torget will travel to Germany in Spring 2023 to teach at the University of Bremen and advance his research on German migration to Texas in the German Emigration Center archives.

Fulbright U.S. Student Program Awards

  • Zoe Czarnecki, English Teaching Assistant Award to Germany
  • Alexa DeCarlo, English Teaching Assistant Award to Romania
  • Conner Essex, English Teaching Assistant Award to Germany
  • Samuel Hallerman, English Teaching Assistant Award to Germany
  • Lezli McDaniel, English Teaching Assistant Award to Germany
  • Samuel GaskinStudy/Research Award to France
  • Megan KellyStudy/Research Award to Chile
  • Alexa SkillicornStudy/Research Award to Poland

Additionally, Sarah Moore, assistant professor of social work, and Cindy Watson, senior lecturer for Teach North Texas, were selected to participate in the Department of Education’s Fulbright-Hays Seminars Abroad to Norway in Summer 2022.

Faculty members Rose Baker, learning technologies, Dorothy Bland, journalism, Sian Brannon, libraries, and Dipakkumar Pravin, information technology and decision sciences, were selected in 2022 for the Fulbright Specialist Roster and are now eligible to be considered for a Fulbright Specialist Award.

UNT also is a leading institution in the Dallas Fort-Worth area for hosting visiting Fulbright scholars and students. Currently, there are more than 15 individuals from 12 countries participating in the Fulbright Visiting Scholars Program and Foreign Student Program at UNT.

Established in 1946 by Senator J. William Fulbright, the Fulbright Program aims to increase the mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries through international educational exchange programs. The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. It provides research, study, teaching and other collaborative opportunities for U.S. students (graduating seniors, current graduate students and alumni) and U.S. faculty, staff and recent post-docs along with opportunities for U.S. institutions to host visiting Fulbright Scholars from around the world.

UNT faculty and students who are interested in applying for any Fulbright awards should email Fulbright@unt.edu.

Fulbright faculty award application deadlines

UNT Fulbright information events


Other VOD Stories


Source: UNT

Sign Up For Weekly Newsletter

Great way to stay in touch with all of Denton’s news and events. We don’t sell or spam you, so sign-up today!

- Support Local -